My Food Philosophy

I know what you’re thinking: Why does the internet need another food blog? Isn’t it full enough with blogs on every type of ethnic, gluten-free, vegan, everything meat, bake-everything-with-butter, chocolate living, clean eating, and any other category of  food you could possibly want?

My approach to cooking is what fits my lifestyle:

  1. I eat only kosher.
  2. I am a busy mom with limited time to cook and
  3. a bunch of little picky eaters.
  4. When my kids want to eat, they want to eat NOW.
  5. I’m cooking on a budget and therefore try to keep my ingredients list cheap.
  6. I love fresh produce, which is seasonal and delicious in Israel. My kids, less so. But I try to sneak veggies into them any opportunity I get. A few weeks ago, I actually got my pickiest child to eat avocado because I disguised it as chocolate frosting/mousse. (Recipe coming soon!)
  7. Margarine and nondairy creamer are banned from entering my house.
  8. I often come across healthy recipes that look delicious, but they include ingredients that are either hard to find or very expensive (at least in Israel).
  9. I measure like your grandmother probably does–a pinch of this, a dash of that, etc. In fact, my PYREX measuring cup shattered about a week ago. And I have managed without it (though I am planning on getting another one). This works much better for cooking than baking, by the way.

So…I’m sharing my fast, fresh, healthy, Israeli-friendly cooking with the blogosphere. Along with recipes, you’ll find explanations of specific ingredients, shopping tips, and other advice on family-friendly cooking in Israel.
Welcome! I hope you enjoy!

This entry was posted in Food for Thought and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Food Philosophy

  1. I like your philosophy. I have a similar one myself. I don’t worry too much about what other people think. Blogging for me is fun and a creative outlet. As long as I am enjoying myself, I’m happy. Welcome to the world of blogging!

    Like

What do you think? Join the conversation! :-)

